THE FOURTH INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON SMART GRID SYNCHRONIZED MEASUREMENTS AND ANALYTICS



SGSMA 2024





IMPORTANT DEADLINES

Paper submission opens: May 01, 2023
Full paper submission: Oct. 31, 2023
Tutorial/Workshop/Panel proposal: Oct. 31, 2023
Notification of acceptance: Feb. 09, 2024
Student travel grant application: Mar. 01, 2024
Ph.D. dissertation competition: Mar. 01, 2024
Student programs notification: Mar. 15, 2024
Final paper submission: Mar. 01, 2024
Early bird registration: Apr. 15, 2024
Regular registration: May 15, 2024

May 20-23, 2024 George Washington University, Washington DC, USA

The International Conference on Smart Grid Synchronized Measurements and Analytics 2024 (SGSMA 2024) is the leading forum for disseminating the latest research on Synchronized Measurements and Analytics in Smart Grids. SGSMA brings together leading researchers and developers from academia, research and industry from all over the world to facilitate innovation, knowledge transfer and technical progress. The attendees will get the opportunity to present their findings, learn about the recent research results from others, and be able to network with some of the leading luminaries, academics, researchers and practitioners in this area.

TOPICS OF INTEREST

Theory and fundamentals of synchronized measurements Synchronized sampling and synchronized phasor calculation The time reference and clock sources used for synchronized measurements Time dissemination techniques Synchronized measurement instrumentation Calibration systems for synchronized measurement instrumentation End-to-end calibration of synchronized measurement systems Procedures for certification of synchronized measurement devices and systems Acceptance, commissioning and field testing of synchronized measurement systems Applications of synchronized measurement instruments to critical infrastructure systems Modeling and simulation of synchronized measurements Data analytics for power system applications of synchronized measurements Implementation and design of synchronized measurement devices and systems Bad data detection and troubleshooting tools for synchronized measurement systems Metrics for performance evaluation of synchronized measurement applications Situation awareness systems based on synchronized measurements Use of synchronized measurements in distribution and the grid "edge" applications Synchronized measurements in wide-area monitoring, control and protection (WAMPAC) Educational issues and curriculum related to synchronized measurements Cybersecurity issues and solutions for synchronized measurement systems The next generation of EMS and DMS systems based on synchronized measurements



SGSMA 2024 ORGANIZERS

Conference Chairs:

Chair: Anurag Srivastava, West Virginia University Co-Chair: Matthew Gardner, Dominion Energy

SGSMA Association Board:

Chair: Mladen Kezunovic, Texas A&M University, USA Mario Paolone, EPFL, Switzerland Carlo Muscas, University of Cagliari, Italy Lars Nordstrom, KTH, Sweden Hamed Mohsenian-Rad, UC Riverside, USA Wanda Reder, Grid-X Partners LLC, USA

SGSMA Association:

Jaime Cepeda, CENACE, Ecuador Joe H. Chow, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA Evangelos Farantatos, EPRI, USA

Antonio Gomez Exposito, University of Seville, Spain

Liisa Haarla, Fingrid, Finland

Kevin Jones, Dominion Energy Virginia

Uhlen Kjetil, NTNU, Norway

Petr Korba, Zurich University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland

Yilu Liu, University of Tennessee, USA Chao Lu, Tsinghua University, China

Antonello Monti, Aachen University, Germany

Marjan Popov, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Suresh Chandra Srivastava, IIT Kanpur, India

Glauco Nery Taranto, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Vladimir Terzija, Newcastle University, UK Alexandra Von Meier, UC Berkeley, USA Andrei Zhukov, SO UPS, Russia

Organizing Committee:

Chair: Payman Dehghanian, George Washington Univ., USA

Co-Chair: Virgilio A. Centeno, Virginia Tech, USA

Contact: SGSMA2024@gwu.edu Nenad Uzelac, G&W Electric, USA Mark McVey, Dominion Energy, USA

Tutorial/Panel Coordinators:

Jaime Cepeda, Escuela Politécnica Nacional, Ecuador

Asja Derviskadic , Swissgrid AG, Switzerland Anita Oommen, ESKOM, South Africa

Technical Program Committee

Chair: Peter Palensky, TU Delft, Netherlands
Co-Chair: Guglielmo Frigo, METAS, Switzerland
Mihaela Albu, Polithecnica University of Bucharest, Romania
Markos Asprou, University of Cyprus, Cyprus

Sadegh Azizi, Leeds University, UK Tamara Becejac, AVANGRID, US

Tianshu Bi, North China Electric Power University, China

Steven Blair, Synaptec, UK Jaime Cepeda, CENACE, Ecuador Lei Chen, Tsinghua University, China Joe Chow, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA

Jeff Dagle, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, PNNL, USA György Dán, Royal Institute of Technology KTH, Sweden

Asja Derviskadic, Swissgrid AG, Switzerland

Anamika Dubey, WSU, USA Evangelos Farantatos, EPRI, USA

Antonio Gomez Exposito, University of Seville, Spain

Zhenyu Huang, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, PNNL, USA

Innocent Kamwa, Laval University Québec, Canada

Vassilis Kekatos, Virginia Tech, USA

Mladen Kezunovic, Texas A&M University, USA

Petr Korba, Zurich University of Applied Sciences, ZHAW, Switzerland

Chandan Kumar, POSOCO, India

Ashok Kumar Pradhan, IIT Kharagpur, India

Yilu Liu, University of Tennessee, USA

Hao Liu, North China Electric Power University, China Stefano Lodetti, National Physical Laboratory, UK

Chao Lu, Tsinghua University, China David Macii, University of Trento, Italy

Sakis Meliopoulos, Georgia Tech, USA

Hamed Mohsenian-Rad, University of California, USA

Antonello Monti, Aachen University, Germany Panos Moutis, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Carlo Muscas, University of Cagliari, Italy

Matija Naglic, TenneT, Netherlands

Lars Nordström, Royal Institute of Technology KTH, Sweden

Sarma Nuthalapati, Texas A&M University, USA/India

Anita Oommen, Eskom, RSA

Anamitra Pal, Arizona State University, USA

Mario Palone, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology of Lausanne, EPFL, Switzerland

Patrick Panciatici, Réseau de Transport d' Electricité, RTE, France

Lorenzo Peretto, University of Bologna, Italy

Dario Petri, University of Trento, Italy

Ferdinanda Ponci, Aachen University, Germany

Marjan Popov, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Athula Rajapakse, University of Manitoba, Canada Reza Razzaghi, Monash University, Australia

Christian Rehtanz, Technical University of Dortmund, Germany

Artis Riepnieks, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, PNNL, USA

Renata Rubesa, Hops, Croatia Ankush Sharma, IIT Kanpur, India Di Shi, New Mexico State University, USA Shenxing Shi, Tsinghua University, China

Aaron Snyder, Enernex, USA

Suresh Chandra Srivastava, IIT Kanpur, India Sara Sulis, University of Cagliari, Italy

Glauco Nery Taranto, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Vladimir Terzija, Newcastle University, UK

Gilles Torresan, RTE, France

Sergio Toscani, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Kjetil Uhlen, NTNU, Norway

Luigi Vanfretti, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA

Mani Venkatasubramanian, Washington State University, USA

Bin Wang, Tsinghua University, China Yang Weng, Arizona State University, USA











