Skip to content



Ph.D., Harvard University, Chemistry, 1983
M.A., Harvard University, Chemistry, 1980
B.A., Wesleyan University, Chemistry, 1977Professional Experience:
2016-: Research Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, The George Washington University
2016-: Visiting Research Physicist, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
2016-: Visiting Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory
2014-: Director, Energy Frontier Research in Extreme Environments (EFree)
2014-: Chair, JASON Advisory Group
2013-: Co-Executive Director, Deep Carbon Observatory (DCO)
2007-2013: Director, Geophysical Laboratory
2003-: Director, Carnegie/DOE Alliance Center (CDAC)
1987-2016: Senior Staff Scientist, Geophysical Laboratory
1996, 99: Visiting Professor, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Lyon, France
1991: Visiting Professor, Johns Hopkins University
1984-87: Carnegie Fellow, Geophysical Laboratory
1983-84: Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard University
1979-83: Teaching Fellow/Research Assist., Harvard University
1977-78: Teaching Fellow/Research Assist., Wesleyan University
Honors and Membership in Professional Societies:
Marker Lecture, Pennsylvania State University, 2016
Pimentel Lecture, University of California - Berkeley, 2014
Bridgman Award, International Association for the Advancement of High
Pressure Science and Technology, 2009
Honoris Causa Professor for Energetics, Mechanics, Machinery, and Control Systems, Russian Academy of Sciences, 2008
Corresponding Fellow, Royal Society of Edinburgh, 2008
Balzan Prize in Mineral Physics, 2005
Hillebrand Medal, American Chemical Society, 2003
Member, National Academy of Sciences, 2001
Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1997
Fellow, American Geophysical Union, 1997
Fellow, American Physical Society, 1996
Alan Berman Research Pub. Award, Dept.of the Navy, 1996
Fellow, Mineralogical Society of America, 1990
Mineralogical Society of America Award, 1990
Phi Beta Kappa, 1977
Sigma Xi, 1977


Research Interests:
High-pressure behavior of materials, particularly Earth and planetary materials; transformations of hydrogen at multimegabar pressures; novel high-pressure compound formation and pressure-induced chemical reactions in molecular systems; synthesis and characterization of new superhard materials, superconductors, and magnetic materials; pressure-induced amorphization; the effects of pressure on amorphous solids; the rational design of new high-pressure materials from first-principles methods; models for Earth and planetary interiors; fabrication of single crystal diamond by chemical vapor deposition; development of high-pressure methods and analytical techniques such as micro-optical spectroscopy, synchrotron infrared spectroscopy, synchrotron x-ray diffraction and spectroscopy, laser heating, magnetic susceptibility, electrical conductivity, and high-pressure cryogenic methods; science issues related to national security.

Recent Professional Service:

  • Member, Steering Committee, HPCAT, Advanced Photon Source, 1999-
  • Visiting Committee, Institute for the Study of the Earth's Deep Interior, Misasa, Japan, January 2000
  • Co-convenor, High-Pressure Neutron Scattering Workshop, Argonne National Lab, April 2000
  • Co-convenor, Laser-Heating Workshop, Advanced Photon Source, May 2000
  • Co-convenor, W. A. Bassett Symposium, AGU Spring Meeting, May 2000
  • Member, Program Committee, Warm Dense Matter Workshop, Vancouver, Canada, May 2000
  • Member, Program Committee, International Cryocrystals and Quantum Crystals Conference, Szklarska Poreba, Poland, July 2000
  • Co-convenor, IGC Mineral Physics and Chemistry Symposium, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Aug. 2000
  • Member, Program Committee, IUCr High-Pressure Workshop, SPRing8, Japan, Oct. 2000
  • Co-convenor, In Situ Techniques Symposium, Goldschmidt Conf., Roanoke, VA, May 2000
  • Advisory Editor, High-Pressure Research, 2000-
  • Director, Enrico Fermi School of Physics "High-Pressure Phenomena", Varenna, Italy, July 2001
  • Member, Program Committee, IUCr Workshop on Neutron and X-ray Diffraction, Saclay, France, October 2001
  • Member, Executive Committee, NSF COMPRES Consortium, 2002-2004
  • Co-PI, High-pressure beamline of the Spallation Neutron Source, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 2002-
  • Member, Visiting Committee, Dept. of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Harvard University, 2003
  • Director, Carnegie/DOE Alliance Center (CDAC), 2003-
  • Member, Mineralogical Society of America Award Committee, 2004
  • Member, Program Committee, International Cryocrystals and Quantum Crystal Conference, Wroclaw, Poland, September 2004
  • Co-convenor, Roebling Symposium, Geological Society of America, 2005
  • Member, Visiting Committee, Dept. of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Harvard University, 2006
  • Member, Program Committee, IMA, Kobe, 2006
  • Member, Program Committee, ADC Conference, 2006
  • Co-convenor, Workshop on Synergy of 21st Century High-Pressure Science and Technology, Advanced
  • Photon Source, Argonne, IL, 2006
  • Member, Selection Committee for the American Physical Society Shock Compression Science Award, 2006
  • Member, Visiting Committee, Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences, Harvard University, 2006
  • Member, Program Committee, Synergy of 21st Century High-Pressure Science & Technology Workshop, APS, 2006
  • Member, Project Advisory Committee, NSLS-II, 2006
  • Co-convenor, High-Pressure Materials Science Symposium, MRS, Boston, 2007
  • Member, Program Committee, International Cryocrystals and Quantum Crystals Conference, Wroclaw, Poland, 2007-
  • Chair, Board of Governors, HPSynC, Argonne National Lab, 2007-
  • Member, Board on Earth Science and Resources, National Research Council, 2007-
  • Member, National Academies Panel on Neutron Research, 2008
  • Member, Advisory Board of Fizika Nizkikh Temperatur, 2008
  • Member, Review Committee, National Academy of Sciences, NCNR, NIST, 2008
  • Member, LLNL Physical Sciences Directorate Review Committee, 2008
  • Member, MaRIE External Advisory Committee, LANL, 2008-
  • Member, Advisory Committee, CC-2010 Conference on Cryocrystals and Quantum Crystals, 2009
  • Panel Lead, Future of Compression Science Workshop, LANL, 2009
  • Member, COMPRES Laser Heating Workshop Program Committee 2009
  • Member, Stanley Miller Medal Selection Committee, NAS, 2009
  • Member, LANS/LLNS Mission Committee, 2009 -
  • Review Coordinator, NAS Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Study, 2010
  • Vice-Chair, Energy Frontiers in Extreme Environments Center Steering Committee, DOE-BES EFRC, 2010-
  • Co-chair, Deep Carbon Observatory Executive Committee, A. P. Sloan Foundation/Carnegie Institution, 2010-
  • Member, CC2010 Program Committee, Chernogolovka, 2010
  • Member, Shock Compression in Condensed Matter Program Committee, APS, 2010-
  • Member, CHESS ERL Advisory Committee, Cornell University, 2010-
  • Member, Light Sources Directorate Science Advisory Committee, Brookhaven National Laboratory, 2010-
  • Member, National Ignition Facility User Science Workshop Committee, 2011-
  • Co-editor, Stishovite: Synthesis, Structure, and Properties, to be published, 2011
  • Member, Technical Committee, 2013 Joint APS/AIRAPT Conference, 2012-2013
  • Member, NSLS II Beamline Review Committee, 2014-
  • Member, NIF & PS Directorate Review Committee, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, 2014-
  • Member, Program Committee, Novel Phases of Silicon Conference, 2015
  • Member, Advisory Board, 11th International Conference on Cryocrystals, and Quantum Crystals (CC2016), 2015
  • Member, NSLS-II Beamtime Review Panel, Brookhaven National Laboratory, 2015-2016
  • Member, BESAC Subcommittee on Major Facilities, 2016
Skip to toolbar