

Highlights from ESW 2015



ore than 500 people attended the 2015 IEEE Industry Applications Society (IAS) Electrical Safety

Workshop (ESW) held in Louisville, Kentucky, 27–31 January. Founded in 1992, this annual forum organized by the IAS Electrical Safety Committee brings together thought leaders and practitioners from diverse perspectives to advance electrical safety. Mark your calendars for ESW 2016, 7–11 March in Jacksonville, Florida.



David Wallis, recently retired director of engineering standards for the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration, provided the keynote address.



David Pace (left), the chair of the IAS Electrical Safety Committee, congratulates the chair of ESW 2015, Hugh Hoagland.



Papers Review Chair Dan Doan (left) presents the ESW 2014 Best Paper Award to Daleep Mohla (center) and Kevin Lippert.



Dan Doan (left) presents the ESW 2014 Best Oral Presentation Award to Tim Rohrer.



Dan Doan (left) presents the ESW 2014 Best Poster Presentation Award to Terry Becker.



David Pace (left) presents the Electrical Safety Committee William C. Jordan Award to Bruce McClung.



Ginny Jordan spoke on behalf of the family of Bill Jordan prior to the presentation of the William C. Jordan Award, named in honor of her husband.



Members of the Jordan family were in attendance for the first presentation of the William C. Jordan Award.



IAS President Dave Durocher (far left) and Program Coordinator Lanny Floyd (far right) congratulate recipients of the Prevention through Design Student Engineering Education Initiative, from second left: Payman Dehghania, Wei Cui, Maria Arechavalet, Alvaro Valero, and Emanuele Zennaro.

62