Skip to content

Change is in the air: Congrats to Dr. Sarah Shomstein who is the new chair of the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences (our awesome new department name). Former chair Dr. John Philbeck has taken a position as CCAS Vice Dean for Faculty Affairs.  And, Dr. Steve Mitroff has assumed the position of director of the Cognitive Neuroscience program. Congrats to all!

Carol Sigelman

Thank you to Dr. Carol Sigelman for her tireless work as the Chair of the Psychology Department these past 4 years! We hope she has a restful and rejuvenating sabbatical year - she deserves it! And, please join us in welcoming Dr. John Philbeck to the position of Department Chair (effective July 1)! Dr. Philbeck is a cognitive neuroscientist who studies visual space perception, spatial cognition and navigation.

John Philbeck





GW is committed to digital accessibility. If you experience a barrier that affects your ability to access content on this page, let us know via the Accessibility Feedback Form.